First Friday at Global Fayre, featuring “Images from Africa” by Cher Piche

April 2, 2009 at 16:01 2 comments

The First Friday Art Walk (April 3, 6pm to 10 pm) sees the opening of a new exhibit from Cher Piche. “Images of Africa” runs from April 3 to April 26.

blog post photo

Cher was born in Southern Africa in a time of peace and prosperity, and grew up on a farm enjoying the natural beauty around her. She and her husband lived in Africa for 40years raising 3 children there, before moving to the USA 9 years ago to open a business. They have had ties with the Springfield area for 15 years, and are happily settled on a small acreage just outside town.

blog post photo

Here’s how Cher describes her work:

My love of sewing and a natural designing ability have allowed me to run my own business for many years, and quilting has become a passion over the last 10years. I soon learned I was not a conventional quilter, and branched out into Art Quilts where I could express my creativity!

I am inspired by God’s creation and love the scenery and animals of the world, which are embellished into my quilts. I do my work mostly freehand on my Longarm machine which has allowed me to express my subjects in a unique style of thread painting.

Please enjoy my quilts as I enjoy making them.

Entry filed under: First Friday Art Walk. Tags: , , , , , , .

Thoughts from the Fair Trade Federation Conference in Portland Oregon First Friday Art Walk – update

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. First Friday was Fun! « Global Fayre  |  April 4, 2009 at 15:13

    […] Piche was here for the opening of her wonderful exhibit, Images from Africa and we had the bonus of an unexpected appearance from Randy Buckner, playing jazz guitar. You can […]

    Reply
  • 2. 2010 in review « Global Fayre  |  January 2, 2011 at 23:44

    […] The busiest day of the year was June 24th with 91 views. The most popular post that day was First Friday at Global Fayre, featuring “Images from Africa” by Cher Piche. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,901 other followers

Categories

Archives

Bookmark and Share

Global tweeting

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


